Tatsuki Hamasaki : Guitars, Programming, Vocals…
Mayumi Hasegawa : Bass, Synth, Rhodes, Glockenspiel…
Hiromi Hasegawa : Drums, Percussion

Past Live Members
Yusuke Kondo: Guitar
Takumi Yamashiro: Guitar
Naruki Kurokawa: Guitar, Bass, Synth
Yoichiro Hashimoto: Guitar, Bass

Side Project
felisie: Mayumi’s casio powered dream pop solo-project





August, 2003
NOON RECORDSよりtoeの美濃隆章氏をエンジニアに迎え、1stアルバム”happiness”をリリース
オーストラリアのART OF FIGHTINGと共に東京、大阪、名古屋とレコ発ツアーを決行

January, 2004

January, 2005
近藤がmiaouを卒業 新たなライブヴメンバーとして山代巧(Gt)、黒川成樹(Synth etc.)が参加し、5人編成でのライブを始める

August, 2005
バンド主宰のレーベルTeto Recordsを設立
toeの美濃氏をエンジニアに迎え、2ndアルバム”make these things alright”をリリース

September, 2005
バンド自らカナダよりbelow the seaを招聘し、東京、名古屋、京都、大阪とカップリングツアーを決行
LINUS RECORDSのレーベルPrecoよりbelow the seaとのスプリットep”tour ep”をリリース

March, 2006
モントリオールのレーベルWHERE ARE MY RECORDSのコンピレーションアルバム”Je T’aime”に参加

May, 2006
山代がmiaouを卒業 新たなライヴメンバーとして橋本陽一朗(Gt)が参加

September, 2006
Thomason Soundsよりミニアルバム”painted e.p.”をリリース

November, 2006
北アイルランドのTRACER AMCと共に東京、名古屋、京都、大阪、徳島、福岡とカップリングツアーを決行

September, 2007
アメリカのDarlaレーベルのコンピレーションアルバム”Little Darla Has a Treat For You – Endless Summer 2007-2008″に参加

July, 2008
Thomason Soundsより3rdアルバム”All Around Us”をリリース
台湾の大型野外フェス”Formoz Festival 2008″に出演

September, 2008

April, 2009
no.9のリミックスアルバム”usual revolution and nine remix”に参加

May, 2009
黒川がmiaouを卒業 4人編成でのライブを始める

September, 2009

March, 2010
p*dis主催のコンピレーションアルバム”songs of twilight”に参加

April, 2010

December, 2010
ベルファストのNot Squaresのデビューアルバム”Yeah OK”(国内盤)にRemixで参加

April, 2011
LINUS RECORDSのレーベルPreco Recordsのコンピレーションアルバム”Ten Years On The Blanket”に参加

September, 2011
4thアルバム”The day will come before long”をリリース

October, 2011
“The day will come before long”のリリースパーティーをプラネタリウムにて開催

November, 2011
北アイルランドのNot Squaresと共に東京、名古屋、大阪とカップリングツアーを決行

December, 2011
ツアーカセットep”Into your pocket”をリリース

March, 2012
Radical Faceと共に東京、新潟、京都、名古屋、群馬とカップリングツアーを決行

November, 2012
mergrimのリミックスアルバム”Intersect Landscape…”に参加
Masha Qrella初来日ツアーの名古屋、東京公演に同行し、来日記念リリース”Crooked Dreams EP”にリミックスで参加

December, 2012
初のリミックスアルバム”The Night Will Come Before Long”をリリース

February, 2013
橋本がmiaouを卒業 10年振りに3人編成にもどる

March, 2013

June, 2013
felisieがデビュー作”ep”をTeto Reocrdsよりリリースし、Masha Qrellaのドイツツアー全5公演をサポート

July, 2013
ギリシャのレーベルSound In Silenceより”Bring The Lights EP”をリリース

November, 2013

December, 2013
Portisheadのカバーアルバム”Helping Hand -Tribute To Portishead-“に参加

May, 2014
ギターの浜崎が初ソロアルバム”Memories in Times”をPreco Recordsよりリリース


Miaou are a band based in Tokyo, formed in 2001 by Tatsuki Hamasaki and sisters Hiromi & Mayumi Hasegawa out of a university project and a shared love of Telefon Tel Aviv, Do Make Say think and Boards of Canada. Drawing from those influences Miaou went on to merge more electronic instruments and samples alongside their guitars, making music filled with swelling synths, spiraling melodies and IDM beats. Instrumental electronic dream-pop as seen from Tokyo.

Since the release of their debut album, ‘Happiness’, in 2003, the band continued making new songs and touring though Japan with Art of Fighting, Epic45 and Tracer AMC. Armed with and ever increasing mountain of synths, toy instruments and a fender rhodes, the band released a second album, ‘Make These Things Alright’, and their ‘painted’ e.p., further blurring the lines between post-rock and electronica.

After their third album, ‘All Around Us’, came out in 2008, the band toured across Japan, into Taiwan playing the Formoz festival, as well as doing shows in Ireland and the UK. In between recording the band have contributed to compilations in Japan and the USA, and completed remixes for the likes of Sweden’s EF and Not Squares from the UK. Always throwing themselves into music, always dreaming of things to come.

Recorded in Tokyo in the Spring of 2011, The Day Will Come Before Long sees miaou push on into more electronic territory than before – bigger synths, broken up samples and glitchy guitars. Mixed by electronic extraordinaire Cornel Wilczek (Qua) in Australia and featuring some achingly beautiful vocals from special guest singers in Ben Cooper (Electric President/Radical Face) and Ben Holton (Epic45). Expect to hear swelling synths, crashing guitars and electronic beats making up miaou’s sonic soundscapes.
2012 saw them tour their new album around Japan with Radical Face after finishing shows in China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, as well as release a remix album, ‘The Night Will Come Before Long’, featuring new takes on the album from the likes of Errors, Sun Glitters, aus, Not Squares and Brassica.

Creeping out at the end of 2013 – a limited edition ep, ‘bring the lights’, on Greek label Sound in Silence sold out a few weeks after release.